Day 2: 9 Pet Peeves

OK, so this post was technically supposed to be like two days ago, but TAKS testing reared its ugly head and sucked all of the energy out of me. And that brings me to today’s topic – My Nine Pet Peeves. (You can find my original post with the list of my 10 categories here.)

  • Smacking. Is it REALLY necessary for you to make noises while you eat? I cringe to the very core of my soul when I hear someone smacking while they eat or when they’re breathing through their nose with enough force you would think they were trying to blow fire from their nostrils. And I also can’t stand the sound of people making out. You can kiss your significant other without sounding like your tongues are trying out for the synchronized spit swimming team. Ew. Ew. EW.
  • Extremists. I don’t care for extremists of any kind, honestly. I’m annoyed by anyone who takes their beliefs to a level of hate and condemnation for others. It’s possible to be fully committed to a belief and still have respect for the opposite side, I promise. As human beings, we have to be willing to love each other despite our differences. Plus, extremists just sound freakin’ nuts half the time.
  • Feeling stupid. I am not a stupid person by any means. What I lack in intelligence, I make up for in common sense. With that being said, I sincerely HATE feeling stupid. I hate obsessing over a stupid mistake or comment. I hate that feeling in the pit of your gut that just screams “YOU’RE A STUPID A-HOLE.” But most of all, I hate when people try to make me feel stupid. Those people are b-words. Straight up.
  • Loud noises. Not only do they scare me, but they make me very cranky.
  • “Let’s find something to gripe about no matter what” people. If you don’t know anyone like this then you either have a pretty fantastic life or this is you. These are the people who will find at least one thing to gripe about, no matter what. These are the people who will sulk at Disney World because Mickey’s ears weren’t quite as big as they had imagined. These are the people who will gripe about people “jumping on the bandwagon” because they’ve been a fan/supporter since (according to them) the beginning. If your immediate thought was “hipsters”, well I’m not going to say that you’re wrong. Also, there’s a post about this mindset coming very soon.
  • Nickleback. Enough said.
  • Westboro Baptist Church. This pretty much relates back to my point about extremists, but my hatred for Fred Phelps and his disgusting cult disguised as a church goes deep, you guys. Yes, the Lord has called up to love our neighbors regardless of anything just as He loves us. But I just can’t love this man or his family, and it would be a lie to say that I don’t hate them because I do. I know what a church is. I know what a Baptist is. Those people are neither.
  • Standardized testing. Don’t even get me started. We ELA tested yesterday, and it’s still a fresh wound. It’s ridiculous to assume that all students learn/think/test the same way, mmmkay? So stop thinking that standardized testing is working because it’s not.
  • The fact that I’m not married to a celebrity yet. Uuuuuggghhh. This is getting on my last freakin’ nerve.
There you go! Tune in tomorrow (hopefully) for my Eight Passions!
Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

