A letter to America

Dear Friend,

Before I begin, please let me say that you are looking quite darling today, and I love you very much.

Now, let’s get down to business. This is a letter to you from me… about the election.

NO! WAIT! Please don’t leave. I really have something to say.

I want to tell you that no matter what happens in November, I am still going to love you. I want to tell you that no matter what family is living in the White House, I am still going to love you.

I am still going to place my hand over my heart and pledge allegiance to you. I am still going to support my brothers and sisters that fight for you. I am still going to wear an inordinate amount of red and blue, but mostly because I look really great in those colors, and it’s pretty awesome how that worked out.

I am sorry that we’ve forgotten about you. I am sorry that we have put certain people on TV that like to throw around completely inappropriate and derogatory terms for ratings and without a care for what’s in your best interest.

I am sorry that all you’ve ever wanted was unity, and we’ve thrown that away for silly hats shaped like elephants and donkeys. I am sorry that we’ve spent millions of dollars for political slander ads that only hurt and destroy. I am sorry that we’ve used social media to post terrible pictures of candidates instead of reaching out to old friends and asking how their day was and congratulating them on a new success.

I am sorry that we’ve forgotten that you are a big fan of religious freedom. I am sorry that we’ve turned our backs on one another for differing religious views rather than inviting someone over for coffee to discuss.

I am sorry that we’ve forgotten what great people have done in pursuit to make you the best you can be. And that many died in the process. Would Martin Luther King, Jr. be proud of what we’ve become? What about Ronald Reagan? I shudder to think what Lucille Ball would think of us. Because we all know I care a great deal about what Lucy thinks, and I stand by that, thank you very much.

I’ve failed you, friend. I’ve let my own political agendas get in the way of loving my brothers and sisters. I’ve let elections and debates stir in me hatred toward others and disgust for people who I normally love on non-election years.

Thank you for who you are. Thank you for letting me speak my mind and for allowing me to have this blog! Thank you for never judging me for the God I serve. Thank you for being organic and changing with the times. Thank you for having an awesome color scheme. Thank you for your cities and your country. Thank you for buying Alaska a long time ago. I’ve never been, but I know that we all really appreciate it. Thank you for being close to Canada because they gave us Ryan Gosling, and that makes them really awesome.

And thank you for changing your ways so many years ago so that I can vote for your future. I hope I don’t let you down. But I know that no matter who I vote for, that won’t be what lets you down. Forgetting that I am an American will be what breaks your heart.

I promise to never forget you, America.

I love you always.

Your friend and Texan,

Samantha Jo

“Look at the nations and watch—
and be utterly amazed.
For I am going to do something in your days
that you would not believe,
even if you were told.” Habbakuk 1:5

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

