Daydreaming Monday 12/3

I’m a dreamer from way back.

In fact, I can’t remember a time in my life when I wasn’t dreaming or imagining up something. No one has ever had to tell me to “use my imagination” because that part of me has always been in full, working order.

This includes dreaming about completely impossible scenarios. There was a large portion of 1995 spent dreaming that Devon Sawa would ask me to marry him. He still hasn’t called.

One of my most favorite quotes is from “Through the Looking Glass” when the Queen tells Alice that she should spend more time dreaming and believing impossible things.

“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast!”

I am very much like the Queen of Hearts in this regard. But no so much like her in that I have never and will never behead anybody. That seems very messy and undignified.

For the past few years, I have put my dreams to the side in pursuit of building a career. Then I realized that my career and dreams are often one-in-the-same. In fact, the Lord’s plans for my life are often built upon my dreams.

So, I’m bringing back my dreaming ways. And because Mondays can be dreadfully blue, I am declaring this Daydreaming Monday.

One of my favorite verses Jeremiah 29:11-11-13. Knowing that He has my life on His heart is so soothing. But the verse took on a whole new meaning when I replaced each “plan” with “dream.”

“For I know the dreams I have for you,” declares the Lord, “dreams to prosper you and not to harm you, dreams to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

Jesus is in the dream business, and with Him, how can we lose?

Dream:

I love to read. And I specifically love Young Adult fiction. All of my favorite books have one thing in common: a strong female character. Harry Potter, To Kill a Mockingbird, Little Women, and Pride and Prejudice.

So, one day I will pen a best-selling YA novel with a Josephine March, Elizabeth Bennet, or Scout Finch for the 21st century.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

