New year, new beginnings, new goals

I’ll be honest, I am finding it quite difficult to get into the Christmas spirit. The end of this semester has sucked the life out of me, and I’m just exhausted. Truthfully, I am most excited about this break because it means I won’t have to listen to my alarm clock for two whole weeks. For that, I am truly grateful.

Other than that, I’m not really sure why the Spirit of Scrooge has decided to set firmly upon me, but it has. I’ve always loved Christmas in the sort of way that everyone loves Christmas. I love watching Home Alone on repeat and eating more calories than one person should ever consume. I’m a big fan of my family, so I like that it is almost a requirement that we spend the holiday together. I like presents – who doesn’t? But I’m still pissed at Santa for cutting me off a couple of years ago.

As much as I love Christmas, I’ve always been more of a New Year’s kinda gal.

There is something so refreshing and exciting about entering a new year. It’s like the universe’s way of saying “Hey girl, let’s wash last year off, and start fresh.”

I’m a big fan of new beginnings. 

On Christmas we unwrap clothes, books, electronics, etc. But on the New Year, we unwrap opportunity. The year stretches out before us as if God were laying out a 12-month feast before our tired, parched, hungry spirits.

I’ve always made resolutions, and, like most of us, I’ve broken nearly all of them. Except for this past year.

I made a general resolution. I vowed to work on myself mentally, physically, and spiritually. And I did.

I said goodbye to a deep depression that had settled over my life. I completed a 5k (though I still have work to do physically). And I reconnected with God and heard Him speak clearly over my life.

And it was one of the most fruitful and exhilarating years of my life.

Now, I’m ready for a bigger and better one. My resolution will remain the same, but I’m making some very specific goals for this year.

1) Take a big trip

I went to New York City this past year, and it truly MADE my year. I want the same for this one. The short list of cities is Seattle, San Francisco, or Atlanta. Who knows where the wind will blow me?

2) Make a big move

Maybe physically. Maybe career wise. I don’t know, but it’s time for a leap of faith.

3) Write more

And put myself out there. I faced some rejection this year in terms of my writing, and it was heartbreaking. But those wounds have healed, and I’ve come to understand that criticism of my work is not an attack on who I am. It has been difficult to separate because everything I write is a portion of who I am, and it hurts when it’s thrown away.

4) Take the GMAT

And apply to business schools. It’s time to get my learn on. Plus, I’m really awesome at college. It’s my thing.

5) Take some classes

Specifically in graphic design. I took these classes in college, but they were super basic.

So, there they are – my 2013 goals. I’ll turn 25 this year, and I’m determined to make my quarter-life mark the stuff of legends.

What are your goals for this new year?

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “New year, new beginnings, new goals

  1. Courtney T says:

    “But on New Year, we unwrap opportunity”- ahh I love that!!! Scrooge can be hard to shake but I am sure once that bell rings today you will be as happy as an elf!!!! You go girl with your resolutions!! I now have the immediate itch to sit down and brainstorm some of my own!! Merry Christmas to you and your family Sam!

    • thebiggitybigblog says:

      I think you’re right, Mrs. Todd! That bell will be a merrier sound than anything else I’ve heard lately. Haha! Please do write down your resolutions because I love reading them. And then start a blog. And send me the link. Yep. Please do that! Merry Christmas, Court!

Leave a Reply

