Friday Favorites 1/11/13

I would make a really excited comment about this being the FIRST FRIDAY FAVORITES OF THE YEAR, but it’s only my second one ever. So, yeah.

Regardless, I’m excited to kick this year off talking about my favorites – some old, some new.

Favorite blog post: Ok, just favorite BLOG this week. I’m totally obsessed with Kelsey’s blog Lion-Haired Girl. She’s super witty, effortlessly cool, and I honestly envy her life. Homegirl is living in Nashville. Which is also tied for my second favorite city. AND she loves Dolly Parton. I mean, clearly, her blog is worth reading.

Favorite tweet: “My daughter just took a huge Creed’s Greatest Hits in her diaper.” – @prodigalsam If you’re not following this guy, do so immediately.

Favorite purchase: As a late Christmas/early Valentine/I’m an adult and can do what I want present to myself, I bought a new Kate Spade bag! I have been coveting this bag for at least a month now, and now it’s mine! And just in time for my trip to Austin next weekend. Where I’m going to flirt with Olympic swimmers. And by flirt “I mean stare at from a distance and smile awkwardly because I’m too chicken to actually speak to someone with an 8-pack.”

katespade

Favorite song: “Black Sheep” by Gin Wigmore. I cannot quit listening to this song. It makes me want to wear my combat boots every single day and flip my hair constantly because that’s what I imagine those really cool girls do. Because OBVIOUSLY they don’t let girls who watch “Pride and Prejudice” twice/week and giggle over the One Direction album in that club. Them’s the breaks, kids.

Favorite photo: This is the year that I will be who I want and do the things that make my heart go pitter patter. I’m not doing things “my ” way per say, but things “HIS” way. He knows my hopes and dreams, and always has my best interests at heart. Why would I want to follow the ways of the world and be and so what they want?

bewhat

Favorite Verse: My heart can be an ugly place sometimes. I’ve talked before about my struggle with selfishness and bitterness. I used to think that as long as I kept those ugly seeds buried deep within, no one would ever know. But I never understood why I couldn’t control my mouth?

Because Luke 6:45 tells us that “A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.”

If my heart is full of ugliness, then my mouth will spew with that. I’ve been really chewing on this and realizing that true transformations starts on the inside.

Eleven days into the new year, and I’m already positive that this will be my favorite and BIGGEST year yet.

Toodles.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Friday Favorites 1/11/13

  1. Lion says:

    Aw shucks girl, you are wonderful. Thank you so much! Love your love for Dolly and your Kate is stunning! It goes with everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

