Guest post! “When dreams become a reality.”

One of my very best friends has such a beautiful soul and an incredible testimony. I’m a little dry on words at the moment, but I think it was because God wanted to use a space of this blog for Jessica to share her Dream story. Jessica has a new blog and is droppin’ some knowledge and wisdom over at Just Jess.

Dreams; A condition or achievement that is longed for; an aspiration

I recently was giving advice to a friend on life – because I have it all figured out of course (NOT); and I was forced to remember a time in my life where the dream I had held onto since I was in the 7th grade came true.

At this moment you may be wondering why I was “forced” to remember it, or you may not, either way I will enlighten you. I had dreamed to live in New York City since junior high. The tall buildings, beautiful parks, and wonderful apartments that filled a bright and shining city of opportunity were more of a distant dream than anything coming close to being a reality.

Then my dream was made a reality in August of 2011… well sort of.

During the first month, the tall buildings were the only reality. The beautiful parks were few-and-far-between, a small affluent child’s playroom was bigger than my entire apartment, and the bright and shining city was filled with a lot of unhappy people going through the motions.

There was opportunity – but it came at the cost of many expensive years of sacrifice to reach those opportunities. So, lo-and-behold, at 22 my heart was torn. What was I thinking? How in the world am I going to survive here? I am from Big Spring, Texas for goodness’ sake! What was God thinking when He brought me here?

And then it happened; my dream was crushed by fear.

Have you ever felt this? The crushing weight of fear that can collapse your thoughts, your energy, your joy, and your very purpose? It was miserable, exhausting, and disheartening and all the while I was still alone in Midtown NYC.

Then just as quick as my dream was crushed, God showed up.

He took my head and lifted it, He took my heart and comforted it, and He took my brain and calmed it down. He spoke words of encouragement like “I am working all things together for your good my Beloved” (Romans 8:28) and “I will fight this battle for you, you just must be still” (Exodus 14:14) and most of all, “Many plans you have my darling, but it is my word and destiny that will be your journey.” (Proverbs 19:21)

That encounter changed my life. I lived in NYC for 8 more months and my life truly has never been the same. My dream was not crushed – but transformed and turned into one of the most beautiful and memorable seasons of my life. Those “few-and-far-between parks” turned into intimate places of worship, running, and walks with friends and my Savior. Those “tall buildings” were a place of refuge during a hurricane and earthquake. The “unhappy people” were my mission in which to love, encourage, and radiate the love of God daily. And finally, that “tiny apartment(s)” was home to a season of growth that will forever be cherished.

That was a year and a half ago. I live in a different state, with a bigger apartment, and not-so-high skylines, and my dreams have changed. The dream I had when I was 13 was fulfilled and God turned that dream into a reality – as He will the dreams that He has now placed in my life and yours.

My encouragement to you today is – don’t let fear crush your dreams. Don’t let the fear of missing out, failed expectations, or discouragement from your family or friends replace the still, small voice of your Heavenly Father cheering you on from the stands saying “You can do it,” “Don’t give up, I promise it’s worth it,” and even when we walk the wrong way, or stumble He still is saying – “Hey, you missed that one, but don’t worry we’ll get the next.” He is there, He cares more that you come to Him than He ever did about that one missed step.

May you please remember that it is way worse to feel the crushing weight of a “what if” than overcome the crushing weight of fear.

Choose to overcome. I promise, dreams do come true – look at me, I was just an awkward, overweight, 13-year-old girl with a dream to see “Central Park” and walk on “5th Avenue!” And do you know I lived one subway stop from 5th Avenue and 2 blocks away from Central Park?

God is in the business of making dreams come true.

Choose to dream.

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.” Ephesians 3:20-21

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

