Friday Favorites 1/25/13

Have you ever had a week that felt like three weeks crammed into one? Well, that’s been my week.

Monday was a holiday, and I still felt like I was sliding into Friday with nothing left to give. Truthfully, this week didn’t just my limits – it busted through them. Wednesday was one of the worst days of my life, and I say that with no reservations. Granted, I’ve lived a pretty charmed life, so my worst days fail in comparison to most. Still, it was a hard, trying, emotional day that I’m still working to recover from.

Nonetheless, I am recovering. God has shown me in the last two days that He truly is my Healer, Protector, and Redeemer. And to know and trust in that makes Wednesday worth it. Satan may have won that day, but he didn’t win my week, and he certainly won’t win my life.

In the spirit of moving forward and not dwelling, this Friday Favorites is going to be different. I want to list my favorite things that help me through the stuff that threatens to tear me down.

Favorite song: “Find you on my knees” by Kari Jobe. When I was broken, this song encouraged me to take my broken pieces and lay them down on the altar. I struggled to even pull myself up to do this, but I’m so glad that I did. He truly wrapped me up and held my heart.

“A Little Longer” by Brian and Jenn Johnson. This is my favorite “soaking” song. While simple and short, it’s such a beautiful conversation with the Lord.

Favorite food: Pizza got me through a lot this week. I’m not an emotional eater, but this week I let the calories numb the pain. And Nutella. Nutella helped… a lot.

Favorite Person: Mom and Dad. Totes. My family is not overly emotional. We often push feelings down and rarely “discuss” our feelings, but they were so great this week.

Favorite Verse: John 14:27 Peace was the theme this week for sure. And peace He gave!

Favorite Tweet: Definitely when Ricky Berens (Olympian) tweeted me back.

I know this is awfully short for such a crazy week. It’s really hard for anything to live up to my Olympic weekend.

Toodles.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

