An Open Letter to Julian Fellowes

STOP. If you haven’t seen Season 3 of “Downton Abbey” yet, don’t read further. The following contains SPOILERS, and I don’t want to ruin the surprise. Don’t put that on me.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Dear Mr. Fellowes,

You might prefer me to call you Julian, but I would prefer you don’t rip my heart to shreds on Sunday nights. I guess we both lose.

For real though, I’m worried about you. Season 3 was rough. You know it, I know it. Let’s discuss.

Are you sad? Sadness is ok! Just ask the Season 3 writers of The OC. I mean, they killed Marissa Cooper. MARISSA COOPER. There was some serious depression going on in that writer’s room. I’m still not over that. I don’t understand how anyone could rip Coop from Summer. It’s just hateful and rude. And Ryan never really loved Taylor. They took us to a dark place that even Seth Cohen couldn’t save us from.

Sorry. Back to the point.

We forgave you about Sybil. It doesn’t mean we liked it, but we forgave you. Childbirth sounds really hard. Health class taught us that it’s perfectly possible to die from that. Which is why adoption is so rad. Less mess. Less death. Win-win.

But I just can’t forgive you for this. I’m going to try but I can’t. You made me love you, Fellowes, and then you broke my heart. You brought Shirley Maclaine to Downton. You gave us Maggie Smith and Shirley Maclaine on the same screen. That’s special, Julian. You tamed the shrew! The bandwagon for Mr. Darcy was getting much too crowded, and you gave us another British man to fall in love with. That’s what made me love you.

But I guess my love wasn’t enough.

I’m not giving up on this, Julian. I won’t quit Downton. But you need to step it up, sir. And bring Shirley back. She and Maggie are the only ones who can save this ship. (On a side note, I really believe they could’ve saved the Titanic.)

Don’t screw this up,

Samantha

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Julian Fellowes

  1. Kassie says:

    I’ve never watched DownTon Abbey and probably won’t. I saw tweets about people being upset and was kind of curious about that.

    I couldn’t believe they killed Marissa off either! And now I need to watch the O.C. again! =)

  2. Kassie says:

    I don’t watch Downton but this made me laugh simply because of the Marissa Cooper reference. Couldn’t believe it! And now I need to watch the O.C. again! =)

  3. Terry says:

    Mr. Fellowes. You have ruined the story for me by having Anna not only getting raped, but beaten. You are turning a class story into a CSI drama…only worse. I have watched it all along and have thoroughly enjoyed it minus Matthew and Sybil dying….that was bad enough, but when you reach this low, I am done watching your show. You have lowered yourself to sensationalism and I am done.

Leave a Reply

